Greek English  
 
Home Page / What to know / Relegious Life / Church of Agios Georgios
Print this page
Church of Agios Georgios

Of imposing beauty and significant archaeological value, the church of Agios Georgios dates back to the beginning of the 19th century and constitutes one of the most important reasons why somebody should visit the village of Lazanias. The multicolored décor of the wooden roof captivates the visitor in the same way it did with the British researchers Jeffrey and Gunnies, who were impressed by the interior of the church. More: Churches

It is a wooden carved church which, according to the Great Cyprus Encyclopedia, was possibly built between the years 1811-1821 and renovated in 1855. Featuring a ridge roof with wooden posts and a carved women’s mezzanine floor made of pine wood, the church always had the support of the monks from the Holy Monastery of Machairas, who aided both financially and spiritually. In fact, the beautification of the church is attributed to them and according to reports, the church’s iconostasis was coated with gold in 1865 and the cost was covered by one of the monks.   

What is also worth mentioning is the discovery of three large clay jars buried under the church’s floor. Two of them can be seen opposite the Gate, whereas the third one in the south entrance. It is believed that they were placed there to enhance the acoustics during the mass. 

 

Sources:

  • Giorgos Karouzis, Strolling Around Cyprus, Nicosia, City and District, 2001
  • Great Cyprus Encyclopedia, vol.8, Philokypros Publications, Nicosia 1986
  • Lazanias Community Council 

 
 
 August 2020

MTWTFSS
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31 
 
 
 
CONTACT US
 
COMMUNITY COUNCIL OF LAZANIAS

2618, Lazanias Lefkosia
Tel: 99464426
Fax: 22632770
Εmail:  lazaniascommunity
@primehome.com
 
Designed & Developed by NETinfo Plc